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Objectives

• Understand the size and weight laws and regulations 
as they apply to legal limits 

• Understand the laws and rules for oversize and 
overweight vehicles

• Understand permit requirements and permit types

• Create an accurate WSDOT permit



Definitions
(RCW 46.04)

Single Unit - A Self-propelled 
vehicle that does not have a trailer.  
(i.e. crane, concrete pump or a 
truck without a trailer)

Truck - Single motor vehicle 
designed to carry freight.  This 
vehicle can carry freight with or 
without a trailer attached.



Definitions Continued
Tractor - Single motor vehicle designed 
to pull semi-trailer and supports a 
significant portion of the semi trailer 
weight.  (Fifth Wheel)

Semi-trailer - Designed to carry load and pulled by tractor. 
(Shares the weight with the tractor)



Legal Dimensions
• Height: 14 feet (RCW 46.44.020)

• Width: 8 feet 6 inches (RCW 46.44.010)

• Length: (RCW 46.44.030)

•Single Unit 40 ft.

•Semi Trailer 53 ft.

•Truck/Trailer 75 ft.

•Double Trailer 61 ft.

•Rear Overhang 15 ft. from rear axle

•Front Overhang 3 ft. from front bumper



Single Unit
• Max Legal Length: 40’

• Max Permitted Length: 125’

Measurement



Single Trailer
(measurement includes ONLY trailer/load)

Measurement

• Max Legal Length: 53’

• Max Permitted Length: 56’



Measurement

• Max Legal Length: 61’

• Max Permitted Length: 68’

Double Trailers
(measurement includes BOTH trailers/loads)



Tractor/Trailer Length
Truck/Trailer Length W/ NO load on truck is now a Tractor/Trailer 

(measurement includes ONLY trailer/load)

• Max Legal Length: 53’

• Max Permitted Length: 125’
Measurement



Truck/Trailer Length W/ load on truck
(measurement includes truck AND trailer)

• Max Legal Length: 75’

• Max Permitted Length: 85’

Measurement



Rear Overhang (ROH)

MAX LEGAL ROH: 15’

• ROH is measured from the center of the last axle to the end of 
the load.

• ROH over 15’ may be permitted.

Measurement

ROH

(RCW 46.44.034)



Front Overhang (FOH)
(RCW 46.44.034)

MAX LEGAL FOH: 3’

• FOH is measured from the front of the manufacturer's front 
bumper to the end of the overhanging load.

• FOH over 3’ may be permitted.

Measurement



Legal Weight (RCW 46.44.041 and 46.44.042) 

 Single Axle - 20,000 lbs.

 Tandem Axle - 34,000 lbs.

Weight by tire size
 Steer axle 600 lbs. per inch of tire width
All other axles are 500 lbs. per inch

 Gross weight is legal up to 105,500 lbs.

Legal Weights



Weight Limitations

• Weights cannot exceed: 
– Tire size limit (size as noted on sidewall)

• 600 lbs. steer axle
• 500 lbs. other axles

– Axle limit
• 20,000 lbs. single
• 34,000 lbs. tandem 

– Axle group limit (measurement between axle groups)



Legal Weight Table



Temporary Additional Tonnage Permit
(WAC 468.38.030)

• Must have valid licensed tonnage in Washington
– 40,000 lbs. for a single unit or 
– 80, 000 lbs. for a combination. 

• Minimum is 5 days on permit
• Legal weights only
• $14.00 per ton



Trip Permits

Permits legal license and tonnage 
– up to 40,000 lbs. for a single unit 

– up to 80,000 lbs. for a combination unit

Who needs a trip permit?
Any unit that is NOT licensed in Washington State and/or is:

– 2 axles, over 26, 000 GVW 
– 3 axles, regardless of weight

• For legal weights only
• Maximum of 3 permits issued in a 30 day period
• May be used to increase valid tonnage

(RCW 46.16A.320)



Fuel Permits
Department of Licensing 

(RCW 82-38-075) (WAC 308-77-025)

A Fuel (IFTA) permit is required:

• Upon entering from out of state, if you are not a member of the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) 

• for vehicles with a gross weight of more than 26,000 lbs
• 3 axles or more regardless of weight
• For diesel, propane (RCW-82-38-075) (090) (100)

Temporary fuel permits are valid for 3 days, one every 72-hrs.

Fuel Tax Division (360)-664-1868



Divisible Loads 
(WAC 468.38.050)

A divisible load is a load that CAN be reduced in size or weight by 
removing item(s). 

• Multiple pieces (measured as one) cannot exceed legal axle 
weight or legal dimensions and: multiple pieces cannot be 
overweight. Pieces making the load over need to be removed.

14 ft (legal height)

53 ft. (legal length)



Non-Divisible Loads
Cannot be made smaller or lighter

(WAC 468-38-050)
The load must be reduced to practical minimum size and weight unless:

• Intended use of the vehicle or load would be compromised 

• Value of the load or vehicle would be destroyed

• Take more than 8 hours to dismantle



Non-Divisible Load Exceptions 
(WAC 468-38-050)

Some overweight loads may have a pertinent piece of that load 

detached and repositioned on the trailer. For example, a dozer 

may have a blade detached/repositioned. Only one of each 

attachment is allowed.  



Creating an Envelope 
(WAC 468-38-070)

Creating an envelope allows a carrier to have multiple 
pieces, as long as everything fits within the dimensions 
of the largest piece. The green item is the largest and 
creates the envelope for the other pieces. This cannot be 
overweight.



Divisible Oversize Permits 
(WAC 468-38-071)
(RCW 46.44.0914)

• Single Trailer - Divisible loads up to 56’ length

• Double Trailer – Divisible loads up to 68’ length

• Tarping Permit – Divisible loads up to 9’ wide; this 

permit is for vehicles equipped with a tarping system



Non-Divisible Permits

• Non-Divisible – Monthly and Annual
(RCW 46.44.0941)

• Fixed Load – Monthly       (RCW 46.44.0941)

• Single Trip Oversize/Overweight 
(Tractor/Trailer only) – 3 days
(RCW 46.44.0941)



Oversize / Overweight Tractor Trailer
Single Trip Permit

• Route Specific
• Single Trip
• Requires mileposts for all state routes

(http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/CommercialVehicle/maps)
For tractor trailer combinations only

• Max dimensions 16’ wide, 16’ high, and 125’ long.



Non-Divisible Load Permit

• Monthly or Annual Permits
• Dimensional Only: 

– 14 ft. wide, 
– 15 ft. high and 
– 125 ft. of length



Fixed Load 
(46.44.0941)

• Drill rigs, concrete pumps, cranes

• 30 day permit

• 3 axle to 65,000 lbs. max

• 4 axle to 86,000 lbs. max

• Not to exceed maximum permit weight

• Must have axle spacing report # assigned 



Fixed Load Licensing
• Fixed loads:

– Must be licensed to their max legal weight but not  exceed 
their actual gross weight

– Using a trip permit in lieu of licensing only licenses to their 
maximum legal weight or 40,000 lbs. 

– If the fixed load legal weight is above 40,000 lbs., additional 
tonnage must be purchased to the maximum legal weight 
prior to obtaining a Fixed Load Permit



Over Height Loads

• Legal height in Washington is 14 feet.

• Carriers are responsible to verify height clearances.

• Pre-running the route prior to movement is required.

• You can verify overhead clearances by viewing the 

WSDOT Bridge List
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/Publications/Manuals/M23-09



Road and Bridge Restrictions

• Updated by CVS and posted on the CVS Website.

• Carriers are required to check restrictions prior to 

movement. 

• On page 2 of Oversize/Overweight Permit.

• Permitting program uses information to validate 

requested route for a permit for weight, width, and 

length.



Oversize Load Signs 
(WAC 468-38-155)

• Required for any oversize load
• Mounted on front and rear of transport vehicle
• 7 ft. wide and 18 inches high
• Black letters on yellow background



Width 
Over 11 ft. wide
2 pilots on 2-lane highways 

Over 14 ft. wide
1 rear pilot on multi-lane highways 

Height
Over 14’6” *  1 front pilot with a height 
pole on all highways.

The pole to be set higher than the load at all 
times.

Manufactured/mobile homes are authorized 
up to 15’ high before a front pole is required.

Escort Requirements 
(WAC 468-38-100)



Length
Over 105 ft. trailer/load length
1 rear pilot on 2-lane highway 

Over 125 ft.  
1 rear pilot on all highways

Overhangs
Over 20 ft. front overhang 
1 front pilot on all highway

Rear overhang - over 20’ on a single vehicle  
1 rear pilot on 2 lane highways  

Rear - Over 1/3 of actual trailer/load length 
1 rear pilot on all highways. 

Escort Requirements



Escort Drivers 
• Must be certified in the 

State of Washington 

• Must have valid card on 
person while performing 
escort vehicle duties.

• Certification reciprocity 
with the States of 
Colorado, Georgia, 
Minnesota, North 
Carolina, Oklahoma, 
Utah, and Virginia.

Escort Car Requirements
WAC 468-38-100



Routine Night-time Travel 
(WAC 468-38-175)

Limited to:

Width 12 ft. 

Height 14 ft. 6 in. 

Length 105 ft.

**No notation on permit is required when within restrictions**

Beyond these limits, a letter must be submitted to CVS for 
special approval. You can fax your nighttime approval request to 
CVS during business hours at 360-704-6350.  Please include the 
requested route, dimensions, weight and the reason nighttime 
travel is needed.



Curfew Hours
WAC 468-38-175

• Metropolitan Areas 
• Seattle
• Tacoma
• Olympia
• Vancouver 
• Kelso
• Spokane

• Oversize loads except  
the width in the table

• Some vehicle types are 
exempt



Exemptions
WAC 468-38-075

Some permits do not require to display oversize load signs.  
• 56’ Single Trailer Permit
• 68’ Double Trailer Permit
• Non-Divisible Loads that are only over length and don’t exceed 61 ft. in 

length
• Loads with only front overhang of 7 ft. or less
• “Weight Only” Loads 

Loads not required to display signs are also 
exempt from: 

• Mountain pass closures to oversize loads 
• Curfew hours 
• Holiday restrictions.



Resources

Permit Program Login
https://secure3.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle/permits/public/login

Permit Offices
http://wsdot.wa.gov/CommercialVehicle/permittingoffices

Axle Spacing Report 
https://secure3.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle/permits/public/

AxleSpacingReport

Find these resources at:
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/CommercialVehicle/permitting



Mountain Passes

• Chain Law:  November 1st – April 1st

• Oversize Loads Prohibited / Signage 
• Some exempt vehicles per WAC 

468.38.075





Lighting Requirements
Federal Regulations CFR 393.11



Washington State Milepost Map
• You will need a beginning and ending milepost on all state highways used.

• The highways are shown on the Milepost Map in parenthesis example: 
(205) 26.59, this is I-205 at the Oregon/Washington border at milepost 
26.59  (see next slide on how to identify these mileposts)

• Account for county/city road mileage by using “co” as the highway, and 
total distance traveled on those local roads.  Example “co” beginning 
milepost 0.00 end milepost 10.00.  Indicating ten miles traveled on local 
roads.

• You must have approval by local jurisdiction to travel on their roads.  

Local offices can be found:  
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/CommercialVehicle/county_permits.htm



Washington State Mile Post Map

Example:
If you are travelling 
northbound I-205 from Oregon 
to I-5 the yellow highlighted 
route shows (205) 26.59 to 
(205) 37.16.  

Your next highway and 
milepost would be (5) 7.50, 
then you would need to follow 
I-5 northbound to your next 
highway.



Axle Spacing Calculator

• Helpful tool for knowing the weight limitations of a 
vehicle combination or single unit.

• An axle spacing report number is required for each 
overweight permit

• The report number will be assigned to the 
configuration



The distance 
between 
each axle

How many 
tires per axle

Tire size of all 
two-tire axles

Indicate if there are any drop axles 
and if it is a self steering drop axle



Dashes 
indicate feet 
and inches

• When inputting tire size, do not use alpha characters.  

• The first number indicates tire width  

• An 11R 22.5 tire should be listed as, “11”



• After calculating  and 
saving the axle spacing 
report, a five digit axle 
spacing report 
number.*
will be provided 

• This report number 
will always be assigned 
to the combination.

*



Axle Spacing Report - Details



Axle Spacing 
Report - Details

• The detail will show both 
permit weight and legal 
weight. 

• The program will show the 
max allowed per single axle, 
group axles, and gross axles. 



WSDOT Contacts / Access to Tools

• WSDOT Commercial Vehicle Services
– Technicians  360-704-6340
– Permit Program Manager 360-704-6345
– Fax number 360-704-6391
– Email  CVSpermits@wsdot.wa.gov

CVS website 

www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle




