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Actual Cost Move Option

Actual and reasonable costs to move your personal 
property are based on acceptable documentation of 
actual costs. Acceptable documentation includes 
receipts for payments, paid invoices, copies of 
payment documents, time sheets of people hired to 
perform the move, etc. If a question arises about the 
“reasonableness” of submitted costs, WSDOT may 
obtain one or more bids or estimates from qualified 
movers to use as a standard to determine if costs are 
reasonable. Prior to the start of the move, a written and 
photo inventory of the personal property items to be 
moved must be completed.

Please do not move until you have signed a “Moving 
Expense Agreement.” You can jeopardize your right to 
receive relocation assistance entitlements unless you 
advise WSDOT in advance of moving.

Payment of Personal Property Only 
Entitlements

Payment for move expenses will be paid upon 
documentation and verification that all personal 
property to be moved has been moved to an appropriate 
replacement location.

Reconsideration of a WSDOT  
Decision

If you disagree with a determination WSDOT makes as 
to your eligibility for or the amount of your relocation 
entitlement, you may seek an informal reconsideration 
of such determination by sending a letter explaining 
your grievance within 30 days after receipt of such 
determination to:

	 Washington State Department of Transportation 
Relocation Assistance Program Manager 
Real Estate Services 
PO Box 47338 
Olympia, WA 98504-7338

If you disagree with the reconsideration decision of 
the Relocation Assistance Program Manager, you may 
request an adjudicative hearing as outlined in the “Right 
to Appeal a WSDOT Decision” section below.

Right to Appeal a WSDOT Decision

You also have the right to appeal a WSDOT determination 
which includes a relocation specialist decision and the 
decision of the Relocation Assistance Program Manager, 
without seeking reconsideration by the RAPM by filing 
an application for an adjudicative hearing before an 
administrative law judge of the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. You may file an application for an adjudicative 
hearing by serving a request for an adjudicative hearing 
pursuant to WAC 468-100-010 within 60 days of receipt 
of the WSDOT decision that you would like to appeal 
by certified mail, registered mail, or personal service 
addressed to:

	 Washington State Department of Transportation 
Office of the Secretary 
Transportation Building 
310 Maple Park Drive 
Olympia, WA 98504-7316

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information

This material can be made available in an alternate format by 
emailing the WSDOT Diversity/ADA Affairs team at wsdotada@
wsdot.wa.gov or by calling toll free, 855-362-4ADA(4232). 
Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing may make a request by 
calling the Washington State Relay at 711.

Title VI Statement to Public

It is the Washington State Department of Transportation’s 
(WSDOT) policy to assure that no person shall, on the grounds 
of race, color, national origin or sex, as provided by Title VI of 
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, be excluded from participation in, 
be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise discriminated against 
under any of its federally funded programs and activities. Any 
person who believes his/her Title VI protection has been violated, 
may file a complaint with WSDOT’s Office of Equal Opportunity 
(OEO). For additional information regarding Title VI complaint 
procedures and/or information regarding our non-discrimination 
obligations, please contact OEO’s Title VI Coordinator,  
Jonté Sulton at (360) 705-7082. P
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Introduction
The Relocation Assistance Program is designed to establish 
a uniform policy to help minimize any hardships you may 
experience as a result of your move. The Uniform Act 
provides for certain relocation payments and advisory 
assistance for displaced persons.

Federal law requires certification of residency status. You 
will be required to sign a form certifying you are lawfully 
present in the United States before the relocation process 
can begin. Any person who is an alien not lawfully present 
in the United States is ineligible for relocation advisory 
services and relocation payments.

This brochure is designed to answer some of your 
questions about your relocation entitlements. Specific 
information about relocation assistance is contained in 
the law. While every effort has been made to assure the 
accuracy of this brochure, it does not have the force and 
effect of the law. Should any difference or error occur, the 
law will take precedence. The law is contained in Chapter 
8.26 of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) and the 
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 468‑100.

Your concerns are important to us. We will do everything 
we can to minimize any disruptions and other impacts 
of the project. Thank you for taking the time to read 
this brochure. We appreciate your understanding and 
cooperation.

Definition
A Personal Property Only (PPO) relocation is defined 
as a move of personal property from property acquired 
for right of way or project purposes where there is not a 
need for a full relocation of a residence, non-residential 
operation (vacant land), business operation, farm 
operation, or nonprofit organization (NPO) from the 
acquired property.

Types of Personal Property Only  
Relocations

• 	 Personal property is stored on property where there is 
no residence or business.

• 	 Personal property is located on a portion of property 
that is being acquired but where the residence located 
on the property will not be affected.

•	 Personal property is located on a portion of property 
that is being acquired but where the business located 
on the property can still operate after the acquisition 
of the needed property and where the business will not 
incur re‑establishment expenses.

•	 Personal property is located in a unit (or units) in a 
storage facility that will be acquired in whole or in 
part.

•	 Vehicles, trucks, recreational vehicles, boats, and other 
miscellaneous trailers, either operational or not, that 
are located on property that will be acquired.

•	 Minimal personal property is located in a rented 
mailbox in a commercial mailbox business that is 
being acquired in whole or in part.

Personal Property Only Relocation 
Entitlements
The basic entitlement for the relocation of personal 
property only shall be a payment for the expense of 
moving your personal property to a replacement location 
of your choosing. The payment shall be limited to expenses 
for moving within a 50‑mile radius of the displacement 
location.

As the owner of personal property that must be moved, 
you have the option of selecting a commercial move, a self-
move, or an actual cost move as further explained below.

Commercial Move Option

As a displaced person, you can request that the 
Washington State Department of Transportation 
(WSDOT) provide a commercial mover and pay that 
mover directly. You will need to work with your relocation 
specialist to prepare a written and photo inventory of the 
items to be moved.

Self-Move Option

You also have the option of selecting a self-move and 
taking full responsibility for your move. You will need 
to work with your relocation specialist to prepare a 
written and photo inventory of the items to be moved. 
The self-move option is based on either bids by qualified 
movers, an estimate by your relocation specialist, or 
predetermined move cost schedules. If a bid is required, 
your relocation specialist will prepare a Request for 
Proposal and Moving Specification and obtain at least 
two bids from qualified movers. You will be offered an 
amount not to exceed the lowest acceptable bid.

Move Cost Schedules

Personal property moved from a commercial storage 
facility shall be based on the following:

Move costs for vehicles, trailers, etc., not connected to 
utilities shall be based on the following schedule:

• 	 Operational vehicles and motor homes $35.00 each.

• 	 Boats w/trailers, utility trailers, car trailers, travel 
trailers, and fifth-wheel trailers $150.00 each.

• 	 Non-operating vehicles and smaller motor homes 
that require towing $125.00 each.

• 	 Non-operating trucks and larger motor homes that 
require towing $150.00 each.

A dislocation allowance in the amount of $35.00 shall be 
paid to each person or business that rents a mailbox in a 
commercial mailbox operation.

Move costs for appliances shall be based on a fixed 
rate of $50.00 per appliance, which includes the cost to 
disconnect and reconnect.

Size of Storage Unit Move Cost

5’ by 5’ $200.00

5’ by 10’ $250.00

10’ by 10’ $350.00

10’ by 15’ $550.00

10’ by 20’ $750.00

10’ by 30’ $1,000.00


